Beginning out of state from west coast to east coast

9 Replies

I’m new to this app, and new to real estate investing. Basically have a general understanding how it all works and my idea first is to house hack. My wife isn’t fully on board with the idea and I believe getting her on board by having a duplex would be perfect stepping stone 1) for her to get on board and 2) I see it being a little bit safer for a beginner. With that, the problem I run in to is being stationed in California, and hoping to get stationed in Virginia. I will be looking to purchase in Virginia, but know absolutely nothing about it. I know I’ll be in Virginia Beach and willing to travel up to 30 min. If anyone knows the area, and what’s good areas for rental properties as well as family for myself it would be greatly appreciated. I have a few ideas in my head that I’ve been following through real estate books etc and I think what Will really get the ball rolling is understanding the area and making some connections out there.

@Anthony Triano Welcome to BP and congratulations on your upcoming move! My wife and I just moved from California to Virginia Beach last summer, purchased a foreclosure and used a VA rehab loan to get it all spruced up before we moved in with our two little kids. We've been in and out of Hampton Roads for about 11 years and know the area decently well and can certainly speak to commutes, neighborhoods, and bases. Please let me know if you have any questions! There is also a great meetup hosted by @Melanie McDaniel that will get you plugged in and up to speed in no time!

Best,

Rhett

Hi @Anthony Triano .  Lot's in your post but let's start with: Thank you for your service!

Being a veteran has perks in real estate.  Make sure to do your research so you can maximize your perks.