Forecast ARV on BRRRR

6 Replies

Hello All,

I am looking to find my first BRRRR property and will be using Hard Money. I am trying to determine my current buy price based on my ARV. I'm a newbie and need some clarification: is the ARV calculated with actual expenses from prior 12 months or is it a predetermined formula such as the 50/50 that underwriter's use?

I may be overthinking this but I believe the 50/50 is just a quick generalization and the actuals will be more consistent with the ARV. I am actively searching deals and I am finding many properties have understated expenses. At most I have seen 30% in a C multifamily market in CT.

I understand the cap rate and the NOI determine the ARV, however, I am learning it's easy to manipulate numbers to make a property appear to be a better deal. Can someone please clarify the ARV and if I should base my ARV off 50/50 or actuals listed on MLS.

Thanks,

Matt.

@Matthew Lahickey

You mentioned class C multifamily with NOI and cap rate valuation and towards the end you also mentioned MLS list prices. These are two different valuations of different property types, one is commercial the other is residential. What type of property are you dealing with?

Single family homes, duplexes, triplexes and fourplexes (i.e. 1-4 unit properties) are residential properties and they are normally valued using 'comps', so ARV should approximate the sales prices of recently sold comparable properties in the area (i.e. comps).

5 or more unit properties (aka apartments) are commercial properties and they are normally valued using the income approach (i.e. market cap rate and NOI), so ARV should approximate the cap rate valuations of recently sold comparable properties in the area.

Cheers... Immanuel

Originally posted by @Matthew Lahickey :

Hello All,