Multi-family financing how does it work?

16 Replies

Hi,

I am very new to REI. I am looking for guidance on how financing for multi-family properties works. Whenever I make inquiries I am told to either go find a property or pay me to mentor you. While I have no problem with either scenario I am entering into a professional relationship blind. I would love to get information about how the process works, who the lenders are and what financing options are available.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

@Anthony Martello , for properties that have a loan balance under $1M wouldn't qualify for agency debt. You would have to seek out community savings and loans banks. These lenders typically don't offer non-recourse debt. It would be recourse, meaning someone would need to guarantee the loan with networth and liquidity. The best debt is agency debt as they can go out as long as 10 and 12 yr terms with an IO for up to 5-7 yrs and it's non-recourse

I wrote an article on this that will hopefully provide some guidance. Basically you have local and regional banks, agency debt, CMBS debt and bridge debt. There are other options, but those are the main ones. Local banks are the best option for loans under $1mm, agency or bridge are often the best bet for over $1mm. Its all deal specific. Talk with some local banks and some mortgage brokers that deal with multifamily.

https://www.biggerpockets.com/member-blogs/10145/72001-getting-an-apartment-loan

There are many options to finance multifamily so I would educate yourself. If you use a broker they get paid based on which loan you go with and some loans pay more than others so a broker may steer you in a direction that might not be the most optimal for your business plan.

Rule of thumb for commercial loans is your net worth has to equal the loan amount and your liquidity needs to be 10% of loan amount. If you can not personally do this you can bring in other guarantors to sign on the note with you.