How do I know my units will rent?

14 Replies

Hello guys, looking into a duplex deal and being my first ever investment, I'm scared sh**less if these units will rent. From studying the market (Craigslist and Zillow rentals), I've been noticing similar units have been vacant for a 2+ months now. What tools do you guys use to scope supply/demand of rental units and gauge rental interest from tenants?

@Chas Noren i know the feeling. a lot of people will post ghost ads (fake ads). Meaning, throw some pictures of a place up on craigslist in the area that you are looking to rent and see who reaches out. if you have a good ad up in your area and nobody reaches out, well, then you may have your answer. If people reach out to you, then you can proceed with more confidence. 

Lengthy vacancy in the area could be a problem. Seek areas where there is excess demand and a shortage of supply. More importantly, make sure the property generates enough in rent to cover regular monthly expenses,  replacement reserves, and unexpected repairs. Rentometer could give you a sense of the rental market landscape in the area. 

Originally posted by @Victor Menasce :

Lengthy vacancy in the area could be a problem. Seek areas where there is excess demand and a shortage of supply. More importantly, make sure the property generates enough in rent to cover regular monthly expenses,  replacement reserves, and unexpected repairs. Rentometer could give you a sense of the rental market landscape in the area. 

I have allocated around 22% for vacancy, cap expenditure, repairs etc. but will be managing property myself for a few months just to get my feet wet. Thanks for the insight. Do you use any tools to analyze demand and supply in areas?

Originally posted by @Ryan Deasy :