New construction apartments

19 Replies

Anyone out there ever built an apartment building from the ground up? Can you shed some light on price/sq foot it cost you to build (not including the cost of the land). What type of cash on cash return can I expect from new construction? A few years ago, the small multis I have in my portfolio cash flow around 20-25% cash on cash return. I understand cash flow on new construction probably won’t be anywhere near as high, but it’s something I’m trying to learn more about as all the deals in my area have been non-existent and I have not purchased anything for the past year. How does the loan from the bank work, approval process from the town ect? I’m completely new to new construction, the only expierance I have with the town are simply pulling permits on a few rehabs I have done. What is the best number of units to build per building to be profitable? 12? 16? 20? I only have about $250k in cash available right now.

@Frank Maratta The answer to your questions greatly depend on the size shape and topography of the lot and how many units you’re going to build overall. It all starts with the land and you work backwards into it.

The more units you have under one roof the more cost effective it is to build. The number of units per building generally comes down to the site layout parking zone and code requirements etc.

Construction costs are going to start at a minimum of $100 a square foot in most areas for the sticks and bricks that’s for vinyl siding vinyl windows builder grade construction the average right now is about $150 square ft for mid grade product.

Generally cash on cash returns are going to be in the 8 to 10% range and the internal rate of return expectations are 18-30% depending on hold time and exit strategy. 

Again a lot of this depends on the size of the project number of units type of construction etc.

here is a high level overview of the process.