Inherited 6million dollars, what would you do?

30 Replies

I have some experience flipping as well as LTR SFH, but have always wanted to move into bigger commercial multifamily...

What would you do with 6million dollars?

Would you buy smaller all cash or use that money as a Dp for a bigger whatever??

@Tanner Enderle the first thing you do is not post it online. That is asking to be inundated with scammy people. 

My suggestion is to go talk to the highest end commercial brokerage in your area work with them to build a portfolio. 

With that kind of funds you are set for life and can earn 300k/year easy 

also suggest talking to a good attorney and financial planner to decide how much to invest, and in what market. 

I am sorry for your loss. Feel free to PM me as I went thru something similar. 

@Theresa Harris I like your thinking.

@Tanner Enderle If I was in your situation, I'd definitely go for commercial assets, but my background has always involved commercial assets and I personally prefer them.  If you don't have a background dealing with those types of assets, they can quickly become liabilities (as can any poorly managed asset).  So it's probably best to assess your personal skill set and go from there to determine what your best move is.

Get 6 million dollar bills from the bank and build the worlds first paper mache money house.

@Tanner Enderle before you move into commercial and multi family you need to educate yourself thoroughly. You can earn a better return on cash development and flipping single family right now vs commercial or multi as CAP rates are very low in most areas right now. You want to be opportunistic and wait for the right deal and be ready to strike when the time or right.

First, as @Greg Dickerson mentions, educate yourself.

Decide what type of investment you want - passive or one where you play an active role (or where you fall on that gradient).