Whats the best way to get started in property invesment?

9 Replies

I have no real experience in property invesment but have been researching it for a few months now as I am very interested in getting into it. The most obvious route is going with a duplex by applying for an FHA loan but for this it seems a tad difficult wage wise. What is advice you would give to someone who is not well off already and good routes to take to get started?

@Cole Druffel

Hey Cole, what are the details? Are you saying you can’t qualify for any kind of loan? What market are you in? What are your goals?

If financing is the primary hurdle, find a mortgage loan officer in your area and ask for a 15 minute meeting. Ask to review your finances, maybe do a soft credit pull, find out your strengths and weaknesses and go from there. You may be able to get approved with a low credit score and not even know it.

If you can't, at least you know for certain and can take the first steps to getting on the right path. You first have to diagnose the problem before you can fix it. 

I would also suggest finding a duplex with at least one tenant so that income can be counted toward your income improving your debt to income ratio. 

Originally posted by @Cole Druffel :

I have no real experience in property invesment but have been researching it for a few months now as I am very interested in getting into it. The most obvious route is going with a duplex by applying for an FHA loan but for this it seems a tad difficult wage wise. What is advice you would give to someone who is not well off already and good routes to take to get started?

It all starts with education. You need to learn your niche and your market. Immerse yourself and become an expert in the space. For your particular situation you need to study creative financing and private lending. Learn how to use other people’s money. 

@Daniel Haberkost