Numbers work once PMI is removed with only 5% down, good buy?

8 Replies

Hey everyone. I'm a newb looking to buy my first multi-family house hack. I've been running the numbers on several in my area and I have a couple of questions. I don't have a lot of capital so I am looking at doing 5% down with a conventional loan. On one of the homes, the numbers will give me the cash flow I want after the PMI is removed with 20% equity. Cash on cash ROI is around 30% due to the low down payment. I will also be managing this first one myself, I was thinking of applying the 10% property management fee I factored in towards the principal of the loan until PMI is removed. Does this seem like sound reasoning for my first investment property? It's a duplex with two 2/1 units. Cash flow is $170 with PMI, $240 after PMI is removed

@Richard Gonzales I totally agree with @Charles Carillo here. You have a lot of variables here and are relying on a best case scenario for things to work. It doesn't sound like you have accounted for anything other than loan costs either. 

I wrote an article about everything that I look at when analyzing a property that you might be interested in. You may already have heard most of this, but might provide some value to you.

https://www.biggerpockets.com/blog/property-analysis-good-investment

@Richard Gonzales looks like you accounted for everything there that i would look at. You even threw in water and garbage, which you could have tenants pay, or share the cost with while you're living there. 

Can you easily afford the mortgage on your own? I would say this seems a little bit more like a layup now that I have seen the numbers on it. As long as you can afford to live there with no tenant I would say go forward with it. At the very least, once you get a tenant in there you are going to live rent free.

If it were me, once you get a tenant in there, I would pay yourself rent. Set it aside in a savings account for you in case things go wrong money.