What’s the Market Like in ATL, Georgia

6 Replies

My Fiancé is getting a new job in Atlanta so it turns out we're moving! I'm a newbie to investing however I've already decided that I want to master local multi family properties following the BRRRR method. Is there a Market for this in ATL or should I consider doing long distance somewhere else (I was thinking Chicago) ? I also realized ATL is a College city should I switch my niche to local student housing/rentals? I don't want to get to used to switching my niches. However technically I havent bought anything yet. I'm ready to go all in and master one niche then move to another. Any advice? Not sure if it matters but I currently live in Northern NJ.

Hey @Justine Veal , welcome to the BP community!

Atlanta is absolutely on fire, supply is at record lows and seems to get lower every month (last I checked it was just over 1 month). This is due to the influx of homebuyers moving to Atlanta from areas like NY and NJ, plus low rates convincing first time buyers to jump in. 

That being said, you want to look at Atlanta as an MSA, not a city. The MSA is rich and diverse in terms of real estate niches and opportunities. It is not simply a "college city" or any other kind of one-horse town. 

However, if MF BRRRR is the niche you choose you will need to source your own deals off-market. The MF space is even more competitive than the SF space due to practically non-existent supply and very high demand. Everyone wants a coveted small MF here so most that hit the market are appreciation plays and could not cash flow unless you purchased with cash/very low leverage.

Here in Atlanta, creativity is key. Find that niche that is not completely overrun and you'll do very well. 

Good luck with the move, and please, feel free to reach out anytime if you have other questions or just want to chat about HOTlanta!