Good multifamily markets

11 Replies

I am in the process of 1031-ing a single family rental into a larger multifamily (8+ units). Unfortunately, I live in Southern CA, which is a very difficult market to acquire multifamily properties in. Because of this, I am looking to invest out of state. I have been researching other markets for a few months now and am having trouble finding good, cash-flowing deals. I know off-market deals and direct mail often times are the way to go, but I need to narrow down my target markets in order to really focus in and build a network in those markets to find deals.

What markets are you guys finding good multifamily deals in currently? And how are you finding these deals?

@Amanda Davi I would highly suggest you look into Indianapolis, IN. 

Indy has a strong rental market and is a landlord friendly state. Cap rates are compressing each year and the market handled COVID extremely well compared to others. 

Also a really cool city to live in!

Check out this Berkadia 2021 Forecast.

@Robert Ogez 1031 exchange fees range of course, but industry standards are around $900-1200 for an exchange.  Compared to the tax liability that most investors face this is remarkably low.  You also usually will not pay additional fees for exchanging between states or for trading out of SF and into MF. 

@Amanda Davi I will raise one small flag -- if you 1031 out of California and into another state, the California Franchise Tax Board will make you file an annual form wherein you report on the replacement property you purchase and whether you still own it.  Failure to do so will result in the CFTB assuming you owe it the taxes retroactively.  It's a simple form to fill out (Form 3840) but one you should have on your radar. 

The CFTB is a breeding ground for bad tax ideas, and those ideas unfortunately tend to metastasize eastward...