Finding Renters for 1 and 2 bedroom duplexes with 1 bathroom

5 Replies

Hey Everyone, I’m new to real estate investing. I’m interested in some duplexes in AZ but they are currently 1 bedroom 1 bath, 2 bedrooms 1 bath,or 2 bedrooms 2 baths. I have an initial fear of trying to find renters for these types of properties. Could anyone share there experiences on how difficult it is to find renters for these types of properties?

What fear are you having?

Before I started investing in real estate I asked every real estate and broker whether 1 Bedroom - 1 Baths were better better than 2-bedroom - 1-1/2 or 2 baths were better. I always thought it would cost much less and take less time to clean and paint 1-bedroom units. The answers I got from real estate agents and brokers was very mixed.

Later, after purchasing a 28-unit building with about 24 1-bedroom apartments and 4 2-bedroom apartments I found the answer. The 2-bedroom - 1 Bath or up to 2 bathroom apartments are much more in demand and easier to rent. There are many single renters who want a 2-bedroom apartment because they want an extra room for a variety of reasons. 

In California, most apartment buildings for sale are sold for the number of doors regardless of how many bedrooms are in each unit. So, the cost 2-bedroom units does not necessarily cost more and you get about 20% more rent.

Thanks Jack! That makes a lot more sense. I can totally understand the two bedroom idea even with one person living there. Even for guests it would only be for a short time to share that second bathroom on a 2/1.  

My biggest fear is purchasing a property and having it take 6 plus months to find someone to rent it out. I would like to minimize the amount of time I would potentially have two mortgage payments while I find someone for the units. 

I don't hear about many landlords having problems finding tenants, anywhere.