What is minimum for good cap rate on a rental property?

23 Replies

New to the rental property investing game and I’m just trying to determine criteria to analyze deals more efficiently. What should be my baseline for cap rate on a rental property? The areas I’m focusing on investing in are Providence Rhode Island, Worcester and Fall River Massachusetts. Thanks in advance

I am relatively new to the multifamily sphere as well! I know cap rates are generally used for commercial properties (above 4 units) and the cap rates really depend on the asset class and your market. 

From what I have learned so far, I would specify what type of asset you are looking for and then see what properties are trading for or ask a broker in that market. 

@Reggie Desir it’s really related to the risk and your desire to invest vs. the supply; if you set your cap rate minimum too high you’ll never find something to invest in, in this market.

For an “A” area these days I feel 5% is a good rate to aim for, but plenty of people are buying in those areas at much lower rates so if you’re looking there you may need to go lower as well.

For a “B” area I currently like a 6% minimum cap rate and for a “C” area I like 7 or 8% depending on how bad the area is.

It also depends on the property, for example a property requiring a substantial rehab is going to need a higher rate even when stabilized just to compensate for the additional risk of the rehab.

Conversely, for a property that is turnkey and ready to go on day 1, I might be willing to except a lower cap rate - especially if it’s a newer property without a lot of deferred maintenance.