Moving from SFH to Apartments

18 Replies

Hey guys,

I'm not a newbie anymore! I have 3 investment properties and I am looking to expand in small apartment buildings. I have been doing my research I wanted to tap the community about non conventional financing ideas.

I am aware I can refinance the houses and use the money as a down payment on the building. However, what I want to know are there any lenders out there that will take one or more of my houses as collateral (I currently own all 3 properties outright) and give me a full loan to purchase an apartment building? Is that something that is done or am I making this up in my head?

Furthermore, if anyone that can name lenders that do this in MI and/or TX that would be awesome.

Thanks!

@Dennis Perry , hi and welcome to BP!

So it sounds to me like you're going to try to refinance 3 SFHs and pull out enough cash to purchase a small MF properties outright without getting a new loan on that property, correct? If yes, then yes that's doable and is done often. The loan against your three SFH's would be a "blanket" loan that is collateralized by the equity in the 3 properties. Be aware that lenders often won't go above 75% (maybe 80%) LTV when doing cash outs. So you'll have to add up the amount currently owed on those and subtract that from 75-80% of their total appraised value to determine how much cash you will receive.

Example: 

SFH A, owes $30,000. Appraised $100,000.

SFH B, owes $110,000. Appraised $220,000.

SFH C, owed $85,000. Appraised $170,000.

Total Appraised value: $490K.  Total owed: $225K.

$490K * 80% LTV = $392K, less $225K payoff of old loans = $167,000 to go shopping for your first MF property. Keep in mind you'll be paying appraisal & closing costs for the refinance as well. Probably around $1,500 or so per property. Subtract that out of your available cash as well.