Long distance investing Help (Where to start)

13 Replies

I’m looking to getting into out of state investing but need help what to do first.

My markets I’m interested in are Chicago, Milwaukee, Indianapolis, Ohio, New England and possibly Detroit.

I am actively saving and making great strides, however I need to figure how to make the first move. Should I physically travel to these areas and get a feel for them before I get a Realtor involved or try to find a good Realtor first? I am a current Realtor in the state of Florida right now. Should I start talking to local lenders in each area? Please help!

My budget is under $250,000 and looking for multifamily (4 units or less).

@Joe Matthews what makes you interested in out of state markets? I can vouch for Ohio being a solid place to get appreciation and cash flow. Regardless of out of state markets, it'll be important to get to know a solid agent, property manager and lender. DM me if you want some contacts.

Originally posted by @Joe Matthews :

I’m looking to getting into out of state investing but need help what to do first.

My markets I’m interested in are Chicago, Milwaukee, Indianapolis, Ohio, New England and possibly Detroit.

I am actively saving and making great strides, however I need to figure how to make the first move. Should I physically travel to these areas and get a feel for them before I get a Realtor involved or try to find a good Realtor first? I am a current Realtor in the state of Florida right now. Should I start talking to local lenders in each area? Please help!

I would start by talking to a local Realtor. There are a bunch of great ones here in Ohio.