Reading Income statements

9 Replies

I am new to multi family.  As both a Realtor and Investor, I want to provide the best and most accurate info to buyers and sellers as well as understand it.  How do I look at an income statement that shows a negative cash flow?.  How do I factor in depreciation and all other advantages tax wise? 

@Chrissy Severance Is the cash flow consistent? What expense items are the highest? Are there ways to decrease the expenses and/or increase the income?  If you've just purchased a property and there is negative cash flow because you are doing renovations, stabilizing the property, or poor management by the prior owner, then it is less of a concern than if you've held the property for while and the cash flow is still negative.

Depreciation is typically factored in after the cash flow. 

1. Is there an owner occupant where income could be?

2. Look for areas where expenses seem higher than normal (ie: landscaping, insurance, property management) 

3. If the rents are not at market value, sell it on proforma. I break it down as proforma-as-is and another column of proforma-renovated. 

@Chrissy Severance A lot of good suggestions above and the CCIM courses are a great in depth education on investment properties. 

Another good resource is Adventures in Commercial Real Estate. they have a lot of models that will help you get familiar with how to create an income statement and where all the line items fall. Also have a really good class that teaches how to model in excel. 

Depreciation is normally an after tax calculation ingredient that will determine after tax cash flow and returns. Will also impact the walk away money for a client at the sale of a property.