Build a duplex or waste of time?

21 Replies

Hello all,

My parents are willing to give me a big lot in San Antonio, TX. I would like to build a duplex (I'll attach the link below to the plans I'm looking at) so that I could move tenants in there. Do you think it's a bad idea to build new even if the land is being given to me? Will lenders lend enough money to do something like that? Does anyone know how much it costs to build in San Antonio? I bought, rehabbed, and rented a house two months ago and everything so far is going great. I'm not really experienced, any advice would help! 

Here is the link to the plans I'm thinking of buying. 

Promotion
Marko Rubel
ATTENTION INVESTORS
Get Deals 100% Funded – No Credit, No Banks, No Job Verification
New Unlimited Funding® program for investors: low-interest, without banks or shark lenders.
Check availability

@Account Closed  I think they are zoned single family, but those lots over see an access road. Before the access road was built, they were single family. But then those lots got cut in half when the govt. bought the land to build the access road, but I don't know if they can be changed to multifamily. 

@Paul James  They are two lots located right behind 411 Mckay St, in San Antonio. They are next to the access road of highway 90

I see the plans are for a two level. I have a two level rental, and learned that they have some disadvantages. 

• Elderly and disabled people can't or don't want to use stairs, so it narrows the pool of people to rent to.
  • True or not, people perceive two levels to have higher utilities.
  • Maintenance cost are higher. Anytime workmen climb a ladder, the price goes up.
  • Here in Phoenix, pigeons love them.

Let the numbers be your guide. 

What's the lot worth?

How much can you build for?

How much can you rent for?

How much could you sell it for at completion?

If the lot is worth enough, a lender may let you borrow 100% of construction costs.