Quick Question - Building a home on a lot in Charlotte

7 Replies

Hi All,

I just had an offer accepted on a SFH in Charlotte. What I liked about this property aside from the deal economics of the existing home, is there is a very large lot and there is enough room to build another home on the lot and it would fit very naturally with the other houses / neighborhoods. I am just slowly evaluating what and when I might want to take advantage of that since I essentially have a zero cost plot of land for it.

The neighborhood values are around $120,000 - $135,000 and my team believes that build costs to put a comparable home (3/2 1200-1400 square feet)  on lets say a .25 lot would be around $55 a foot.  For anyone with experience in Charlotte, does that seem reasonable?

Thanks,

Eric

Hey Eric,

I am an infill developer in Charlotte. I love urban infill! If you have never subdivided before there is a lot to consider zoning, utility taps and easements. Do you know if a house was previously on the lot?

I'm not a builder, but that $55 per sf seems very low. Is that including the lot? Either way, it seems like that is pretty low unless these are extremely basic homes. I'd love to hear more details. 

Never happen paying people to build it. Not possible. $75-80 with sale fees and construction loan interest.

@Kenneth Bell  @Austin Lee  @Arlan Potter  

Hi All,

Much appreciated for all your comments.

Ok so the zoning is residential - lot is between two existing houses. Easement is no question since there is adequate road frontage. Utility taps are always the same - probably $6,500 for water & sewer.