New Construction - Mixed Use - Obtaining Financing?

7 Replies

Hello BP,

I am new to the game of developing. By new, I mean I have never developed a property in my life! I am wondering what the best way to get financing for my first project would be. 

I currently own the land that I would like to develop on. It is a hard corner in a densely populated city. The city will approve a mixed-use scenario with retail on the ground level and apartments above. I have the highest zoning in the city so my options are pretty endless except for industrial.

Options I have thought of:

1. Partnering with a local bank

2. Obtaining LOIs from National/International tenants

3. Bringing on partners

4. Any other ideas? If I wanted to go with choice #1 what would be the most effective way of convincing a bank that I have a solid project?

Thank you for any advice.

Medium empire investment group logoDavid Friedman, Empire Investment Group | [email protected] | (909) 486‑2957 | http://www.realicore.com

Oh, one more question: I have the possibility between building a Starbucks and another successful coffeeshop. Is it better to go with the international tenant or the other coffeeshop? What would make someone choose one over the other?

Medium empire investment group logoDavid Friedman, Empire Investment Group | [email protected] | (909) 486‑2957 | http://www.realicore.com

David,

That is a great problem to have.  Deciding what to do with a Mixed Use lot is always a bit of speculation.  Do you have the option to get a Starbucks lease now?  That would be pretty compelling if they  would be willing to sign a lease for a building that isn't built yet.  They are likely to have a set of requirements for the space.