Skip to content
Land & New Construction

User Stats

Votes
Bryan Hancock#4 Off Topic Contributor
  • Investor
  • Round Rock, TX
Votes |
Scaling Builders - What Is Their Capacity?

• Investor
  • Round Rock, TX
Posted Sep 30 2015, 14:40

Our development company has grown by leaps and bounds over the last several years.  We now have the fortunate first-world problem of having far too much work.  I have been turning down projects for about 6 months now trying to give our operations part of our business a chance to catch up with our capital raising capacity.  This is finally starting to pay off and our builders are catching their breath.  

This summer in Austin there were historic floods that have seemed to set the industry back several months.  Needless to say this has impacted many of our projects and the timelines for contractors have stretched considerably.  Many of the builders lost subs to jobs where they were restoring flooded projects and in general the subcontractor pool in Austin is very small for skilled labor.  The skilled carpenters who can do detailed finish out work are especially hard to find.  

One of our new builders has on-site supers and has a 40-year track record of building projects in Austin.  He knows how to navigate the city and can build projects on time, on schedule, and on quality.  This is VERY hard to find right now.  I'm worried we're loading him up with too many projects though and that he'll get expensive soon if we give him too much work.