Civil Engineer vs Construction Management

4 Replies

I'm new to real estate investing, but have unique opportunities in my career to get an advantage over other investors. I have been working for a civil engineering firm for a short time in Austin, TX. Working here has helped me develop some good relationships with people at the City of Austin. I've dealt with some developments, permits, obtaining CO's, etc. I don't have much experience yet, but I have an opportunity to work with a home builder as a construction manager now.

There is advantages to each job for real estate investing. Starting into real estate I feel like the homebuilder can directly benefit me now by developing relationships with contractors and learning how to build and repair homes. However, the engineering firm allows me to learn what it takes to be a real estate developer from dirt (the risk worries me). 

Has anyone been through something similar? I'd also like to hear from each side (civil engineers and construction managers) about the advantages you gained from your career. Also, what do you wish you would've learned sooner?

@Eli Howard As a construction engineer I can say that both have their benefits. I'm new to the investor side of the business and have been investin for less than a year. I think it really depends on what you want to do. If you're interested in the BRRR strategy then working for a CM company would be extremely beneficial. If you're wanting to do more developing or new construction it sounds like the CSA firm may be where you should stay.

So i guess, it depends.  Hahaha.  Best of luck in your choice.