• Investor
  • Albertville, MN
Votes |
St. Cloud, MN - Multi-Family & Single Family Rentals

Jacob Gay
  • Investor
  • Albertville, MN
Posted Jun 8 2022, 11:56

I am new to real estate investing and looking to invest into either single family or multi-family rentals in St. Cloud, MN. The Price:Rent ratios seem favorable compared to the Minneapolis/St. Paul metro, but I've seen posts from the past that indicate St. Cloud is not a market worthwhile. I was hoping to connect with other folks in the area to better understand the local area better and see if anyone has advice? TYIA

Jacob Gay

User Stats

Votes
James Hamling#3 Real Estate News & Current Events Contributor
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Twin Cities, MN
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Twin Cities, MN
Replied Jun 9 2022, 09:33

@Jacob Gay Different strokes for different folks. 

Name the market, literally anywhere, and will find people who love it and hate it, people tend to press there personal take as being "the" official dictate of a market. 

Saint Cloud is a regional hub market, most will not know what that even means, so if they don't know the basic fundamentals how can they have any form of accuracy in there assessments, right. 

You can absolutely make $ int he market, can make small $, BIG $, and loose $. And not all people are capable of operating a property the same, I had on in St Cloud that seller was barely making anything on it, so sold it, and now it's a cash cow, same property, done as same kind of rental, just different management styles. 

User Stats

Votes
Replied Jun 10 2022, 11:07

@James Hamling Your comment makes a lot of sense here. But I'm wondering, what did the second property manager in your example do so differently to be able to turn the same exact property into a cash cow?

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats