Diff ways to find Buy-and-Hold Properties

13 Replies

Hello BP'ers,

I am new to BP as well as REI side. But my primary focus is on Buy-and-Hold property as a starting point to generate cash flow. I have been looking SFH (Single Family Homes) in North Dallas area thru MLS listing and RE agent. (Main focus is on: 3 bedroom, 2 bath, attached 2-car garage, under 2000 sqft, 0-20 years old), I have seen many properties and put an offers on 3 homes (Almost near to listed price), but seller has decided to go with other buyer. Also, with my short experience, I have realized that these single family homes are going under contract within a day-or-two. With my more reading on BP, I have realized that the contract is not only going for first-time home buyers but there must be investor like me, who are looking for a investment property.

Am I doing something wrong on these offers or is DFW market is too hot for this type of MLS listing for buy-and-hold, but I am sure my friends on BP must be using a different ways (other than MLS) to acquire these type of properties… Any help on finding these avenues are greatly appreciated…

Thanks a bunch…

DP

The same thing is happening in Houston right now. The market is just hot and flooded with investors. Cash offers will usually have preference or you may need to go above asking price (check your numbers!). To really find the great deals, you'll have to get ahead of the MLS somehow - usually through pocket listings or lead generating marketing campaigns. Good luck!

@Sebastian Gast Thanks for response. When you mentioned about pocket listing, does BP has some short of listing also avail or are you talking about some other place? Lead Generating campaign will be other thought I have but I thought that might be more for flippin (Motivated Seller type of campaign).

DP