Skip to content
General Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Aaron Carter
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Bemidji, MN
Votes |
What is my next step? Any advice Greatly appreciated!

Aaron Carter
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Bemidji, MN
Posted May 9 2014, 09:46

Personal info:

I am 25 years old. I currently work full time as an RN, a stable job in my area (rural MN) with fairly substantial opportunity for salary growth. My wife is a dental assistant, also a stable job. We are expecting our first child this summer. She would like to quit her job in one year and become a stay at home mom which is something I support. We are currently renting a house which is being sold in two months. We have been looking for a home in the area but have decided to live with my in-laws for one year until my wife becomes a stay at home mom.

Financial info:

Living with my wife's parents will allow us to save a fairly substantial amount of capital, I expect around $40,000, conservative estimate, in one year from our earned income. We are quite frugal in our spending...

We currently own a duplex which we purchased for $86,000 last year. It was poorly managed and after repairs we are receiving $700 for one unit and $750 for the other unit after phase one of our remodel. However, I am currently covering utilities at this time. I have been saving capital and making improvements to the property this summer, which include adding two bedrooms and one bath to one of the units, after which I will also no longer be covering the cost of utilities for either unit. After improvements my conservative estimates are as follows:

(included 8.3% vacancy rate)

Gross Income: $20,350

NOI: $16,185

Cash flow: 11,870

Cash ROI: 43.88%

Estimated ARV: $125,000