What is my next step? Any advice Greatly appreciated!

4 Replies

Personal info:

I am 25 years old. I currently work full time as an RN, a stable job in my area (rural MN) with fairly substantial opportunity for salary growth. My wife is a dental assistant, also a stable job. We are expecting our first child this summer. She would like to quit her job in one year and become a stay at home mom which is something I support. We are currently renting a house which is being sold in two months. We have been looking for a home in the area but have decided to live with my in-laws for one year until my wife becomes a stay at home mom.

Financial info:

Living with my wife's parents will allow us to save a fairly substantial amount of capital, I expect around $40,000, conservative estimate, in one year from our earned income. We are quite frugal in our spending...

We currently own a duplex which we purchased for $86,000 last year. It was poorly managed and after repairs we are receiving $700 for one unit and $750 for the other unit after phase one of our remodel. However, I am currently covering utilities at this time. I have been saving capital and making improvements to the property this summer, which include adding two bedrooms and one bath to one of the units, after which I will also no longer be covering the cost of utilities for either unit. After improvements my conservative estimates are as follows:

(included 8.3% vacancy rate)

Gross Income: $20,350

NOI: $16,185

Cash flow: 11,870

Cash ROI: 43.88%

Estimated ARV: $125,000

We would qualify for a UDSA rural development loan for our future primary residence next year which would require no money down in addition to lower interest rates. Taking into account that our earned income will be significantly reduced when my wife quits...

One thing that should be noted is that if I purchase another investment property prior to purchasing our primary residence, I would likely not qualify for a USDA rural loan...