Illinois Real Estate Exam

14 Replies

As an investor, I've decided to take the Illinois Real Estate Broker Exam so I can view properties on my own (among other reasons). I'm an attorney, so I don't have to take any courses or anything. I can just sit for the exam. I registered to take the exam 30 days out in a Chicago suburb. I went to start studying and am finding it difficult to come up with a study plan. They sell books/flashcards for national questions, but it appears they contain a bunch of irrelevant information. They also sell books for what appears to be the Illinois portion, but I can't tell if they cover what you need to know for the national portion as well.

When non-attorneys take the real estate courses, I'm sure you get a pretty good idea of what you need to study, and probably already have the material outlined. So I'm assuming that is where I am at a disadvantage. Can anyone recommend good study materials that will be the easiest to cram enough information into my head to pass the exam - more importantly, cram the RIGHT information into my head.

I'm down to 29 days, and I work full time, so I have to figure this out pretty quickly!

@Mark Doyle

Good move getting your license. You'll be amazed how much time if frees up being able to open doors on your own schedule.

Check Amazon there are specific books for the IL exam.

Good Luck

@Mark Doyle - The irrelevant information you are finding is probably the right information you need for the test. When I took it I quickly discovered that the test really has very little to do with selling real estate.

I have my books at home (Chicago) that I used when I transitioned my license 2 years ago that you can borrow. Or you can use Kaplan RE Online (I use them for all my CE) they have an exam prep course for $159

http://www.kapre.com/real-estate-courses/illinois/

Or it looks like Amazon has an exam prep book