FHA occupancy rules. Need advice

34 Replies

Hi, this is my first time posting on the forum, hopefully someone can help me with my situation. I live in an owner occupied duplex that I purchased with an FHA loan. I live in one side, and I rent the other side out. The property was purchased in January. FHA mandates that I must live in the unit for 1 year before I am able to rent it out.

The problem is I need to relocate out of state because of my job. Will FHA come after me if I leave 5 months before the 1 year is up? What are the repercussions? I'm mostly worried about what will happen when I switch my insurance to a rental.

As long as you can document that you had to move in order to keep your job, you'll be fine.

It might be a good idea to talk to the mortgage company and let them know that you're being transferred or that you must move for work, just so they can put a note in the file and avoid any hassles if it does trigger when you switch insurance.  I think they told us it's 75 miles or more, so as long as "out of state" isn't something like Portland, OR, to Vancouver, WA, you're probably fine.  

Thank you @Michael Smith  for the info.  I am looking at a few Home Path homes to move into for a year then keep as a rental.  Do you see any flags that I should be aware of before I pull the trigger?