West Virginia, mountain mama, take me home? maybe?

5 Replies

So, we are still in the planning stages for building an intentional Autistic community in Pueblo. A few people are wanting to do something in West Virginia and asked for my input.  Looking on zillow, there seem to be some great deals.  I know nothing about the area other than it is beautiful and green and closer to an ocean than Colorado is. what do you all think?

If we start the thing in W, Virginia [or anywhere else] we will still be putting together the community in Pueblo.

Hello, I am from Charleston, WV and I am a Broker and Investor.   WV certainly has a some deals in comparison to the rest of the country in terms of cost of land and cost of living.  This project sounds pretty neat and I think the Wild and Wonderful hills of my home state could certainly provide a nice spread for something like this to prosper. I had been pondering developing a co-housing community in a certain spot on the outskirts of Charleston (about 300 Acres). PERFECT spot with old logging roads in place and very serene views of the Mountains.  The biggest obstacle was getting water to the place. It could be done though, I just can't justify the investment at this time. Anyways, sorry for the ramble.  This sounds like a really cool project so if you happen to explore this option further, I would love to lend my insight. 304-638-2738

One thing I might mention in favor of Pueblo CO (which is where I live)... is that Pueblo has excellent mental health services.  

Namely, due to the presence of the state mental hospital in Pueblo, Pueblo has specialized in mental health services... both inpatient and outpatient.  

This could be helpful in serving the Autistic community.