Small Town Investing

9 Replies

Interested to hear thoughts from those with experience in very small town investing. My general mentality is very city focused. 

I have some new opportunities coming down the pipe in Buena Vista, Virginia. This is a very small town. There are some good fundamentals: local universities, steady employment nearby, low prices. That being said, I don't know what I don't know. Thanks.

Particularly interested in hearing from Brandon Turner, since he has experience with the Montesano, WA market. He always talks about the 'Po-dunk' aspects of REI.

Hi Trevor,

I'm just getting into investing in a small town (pop. 3,500) in the Sierra foothills here in California. I'm buying, fixing, and renting. As I approach being ready to rent this cute cottage, I've asked some locals about the best way to advertise my rental. In addition to mentioning Craig's List, several have said "Word of mouth! Just tell everyone you interact with--grocery checkers, bankers, etc--and you'll have lots of people calling you." There's a fun thing about small-town investing I hadn't thought of.

Furthermore, this particular small town is a bit economically depressed. That could be considered bad, but it also means that lots of folks aren't well enough off to buy, so there's a high demand for rentals and they don't stay vacant long.

Don't know if those items are relevant to your little town, but they're what I've noticed around here.

Best of luck!

For buy and hold, I sometimes remind myself for a single family property I only need one customer at a time. JUST ONE! Same thing goes for flipping I guess, but I don't do any flipping.

I would test the waters first if investing in a small town. Start with one property, see how it goes...

Hi,