Investing in Puerto Vallarta Mexico

11 Replies

Hi everyone, 

I'm new to Real Estate Investing but have always being attracted by the idea of cash flow, and passive income. I'm currently thinking on investing on rental properties in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. This would be my first time investing. I looked at the prices of properties being and property taxes being lower than in the US. I'd like to see if anyone has any advice as to what kind of property would be best to invest on, what area of town and how much cash you could pull out of a vacation rental in average. I'll be traveling there soon to check it out myself, but I've read good things so far and it looks a good business. Thanks!

I don't know anything about invest overseas but I recommend you looking at the law. I though I read somewhere that the land couldn't be "bought" buy foreigners but only a 99 year lease. Or something to that throughout.

Hi Elizabeth,

Thanks for your reply. I've done some research and is my understanding foreigners could buy through a bank trust. Also, my wife is Mexican/ US citizen, so worst-case scenario she would buy the property under her name. Thanks for the info though 

My BIL has owned a home on the shores of Puerto Penasco (aka Rocky Point) for 20 odd years on a 99 year lease. But pricing is stagnant as newer properties are selling low & it has been difficult keeping corrupt individuals off the board running the association & stripping the treasury. 

But they do enjoy using it constantly, regardless of the 3-4 hour daylight only drive from Phoenix.

The last time we were there a case of Corona was $9, pitchers of margaritas at at happy hour was $1 & it was still SAFE.

good luck

Love it there but would only use a small portion of net worth. The corruption is a fact of life down there.