What are your most memorable moment when seeing a property?

8 Replies

hi Bp

What are some funny/weird/scary moments you had when you are seeing a property?

Whether it's meeting the people involved or the building itself,

We looked at a foreclosure one time, the stink of dogs was horrible. In the two bedrooms, the window sills had been completely chewed off, the doors and trim boards were clawed thru. A nightmare.

We bought the house, rehabbed it, and sold it for a good profit. 

Three years later it got foreclosed on again, we bought it for the same price we paid the first time. We then rehabbed it, less this time, and sold it again, for more than we sold it the first time. 

Amazing.

Keep in mind I'm investor/realtor

-------

My first year as a realtor, I was previewing a row house  for a buyer. I was brand new and eager to start. I called the listor, who seems eager to unload this listing. He confirmed my appointment, with zero instructions. 

On the day of appointment I headed over, knocked on the door. No one answered. And I used my supra key and announced myself as usual.."realtor!".

I go in and start taking pics of the living room. I walk into the kitchen, and a lady was in there, she went pale white in the face, she totally fell backwards and collapsed on to the kitchen floor hitting the stove and shelving.

Not only did I scare her, she had a medical condition. She was waiting for her son to come back with sugar water and meds.

I introduced myself, explained I'm a realtor, rang the bell and announced myself. She said she thought she heard someone......

I helped her up, sat her down, got her water and made sure she was ok until her son called.

Needless to say, the listor never told tenant... And when I called him that I made the tenant faint...he said oh nonchalantly.

Smells, bugs and rodents can deter me from the inside.  However, busted walls, windows and missing plumbing reflects big discounts...:)