Advice??

11 Replies

So I recently purchased a "home" in Illinois, for me and my family with the VA loan, and I am renting it out until I finish my service which is 1 1/2 years in Salt Lake City, UT. By the end of the year I would like to have either my first flip, or my second buy and hold property under my belt. I have to advise, i do not have funds to support this but I will continue to gather and try anything within reason as necessary. I am just starting out I might add, but I am looking for any advice that would help me. any suggestions?

Thank You BP

You might be on the lookout for a owner financed property.  Until you have some experience as a landlord it will be hard to get a loan for a rental property.  Most army salaries are not conducive to getting multiple loans.

@JerryW. what do you mean owner financed?  Would it be better to go all in wheen I get out in a year?  I would like to get started as soon as possible on the right track to reach my goals. 

Hey Jahmar,

Owner financed is when the person selling the place (current owner) acts as the bank and finances the deal for you. On the plus side you are working with one owner instead of a bank so the financing is a little different but you pay for it with higher down payments and interest rates. 

Here is a listing for a cabin that is offered for owner financing: http://www.ksl.com/index.php?nid=218&ad=33545308&c...

This probably isn't a good investment deal but you can get an idea of how it works.

If you have any other questions, feel free to reach out to me!

Since you are moving around, you might want to look into house hacking with a tri or quad plex out in Salt Lake. You should be able to get good terms and a low down payment, even if you have to pay some PMI.

@Jahmar Childs