Best markets to invest in.

23 Replies

Morning everyone,  out of these five markets, Phoenix,  Vegas, Florida, Tennessee and Indiana which would be best to buy an investment property?

What are you looking for cash flow,appreciation long term buy and holds or flips. What is the amount of capital you have to invest and do you have time to investigate a new area? Why not in your neighborhood?

I'd say the one closest to where you live and the one you are most familiar with. Start in your own backyard. You can make money in any market. Some markets are strong in multifamily, some with SFH. That's a very broad question. Start out with what you know. Do you have any investments now? You likely don't want your first investment to be halfway across the country with a contractor you know nothing about in a city where you have never been. Just my two cents.

Well, being that I am a newbie a family member deals with a company that buys SFH's in those states, buy and hold in Phoenix Vegas and Orlando and cash flow in Tennessee and Indiana they say. I'm months away from purchasing but will have around 30-40k down payment.

Florida has quite a few good appreciation markets, including Putnam County and Paco County. Not familiar with those markets personally. I have heard a lot of good things about Indiana and Indianapolis.

@Kevin Darrell

I would say for cash flow you can still do okay in some areas of Florida, but not Orlando.  I am invested in Jacksonville.  Indianapolis is probably the best cash flow market you've named here, and they have have had some good appreciation recently, which is not typical of that market.  I would be very cautious about Phoenix and Las Vegas, as they may have peaked out on reasonable appreciation.

@Larry Fried, and all that commented, thanks for the advice. Greatly appreciated.  

@Kevin Darrell