Real Estate Investing Full Time & How to Divide Cash Flow

3 Replies

I'm new to personal investing and hoping, like many of you, to make it my full time career at some point in the future. I recently finished the site favorite, Rich Dad Poor Dad, and was left with a fairly mundane question. Kiyosaki says a couple times in the book that essentially as soon as your free cash flow from investments equals your monthly expenses, you're virtually free to quit your job and go full time, as your investments can sustain your lifestyle. However, that seems to exclude reinvesting in your business, which I know Kiyosaki is in favor of.

So my question, for those of you that have made this transition, is did you target your monthly expenses as your transition point? If so, how did you continue to grow if your free cash flow was going to personal expenses? If neither of those, what was your target cash flow situation that made you feel comfortable going full time (i.e. 50% goes to personal, 50% goes to reinvesting)?