Brrrr / Refinancing

10 Replies

I have been researching the Brrrr strategy recently and it seems like the biggest pitfall would be not being able to refinance. I'm new to investing, so what would be some of the reasons an investor would not be able to refinance? Are there outside variables or is it just based on how comfortable the bank is with you as a borrower?

The major concern I have seen is Loan to value and debt to income. You will most likely be signing as a recourse loan and banks will most likely be concerned on those numbers at your personal level too. Also there are some banks we have found in our area who do not like to loan to properties in certain neighborhoods. If your ratios are good you will just have to search for the right bank.

Refinancing is easier than getting a loan to buy.  My two sources are about the same in every way except interest rate and seasoning.

31 day seasoning, 6.99%
6 month seasoning 5.1%

...so, I use both for each property to take advantage of each program's benefit. 

@Jamey Newman ,

Along the same lines as @Irfan Raza , I would say that the appraisal is the biggest factor in the cash out refi.  No matter what you paid, or how much you spent on the rehab, the appraisal (along with the banks loan to value ratio) will determine how much you can get back out.

I totally agree with @Craig Wilcox . I tried getting a loan on the house I bought free and clear, but the appraiser had issues. The AC unit (heat works fine) that wasn't working when I bought the place and I hadn't bothered to remove it bugged him and the bank (SunTrust) asked me to fix it before they'd continue forward. There were a ton of little things before this point and I decided to heck with 'em and walked away. So the house never got financed or refinanced.  This was in 2013.

It's something I know I'll have to deal when I get ready to sell.