Obtaining real estate license as an investor

9 Replies

As a beginning real estate investor, is it a smart decision to obtain a real estate license? I'm aware if he educational benefits it will provide, what other benefits will it provide?

Welcome to BP! This question gets asked daily here on the forums. Unless you want to be a wholesaler as your main business, then you should strongly consider getting licensed. 

If you decide to get your lic. It is helpful because you can have access to MLS. I am a broker and have been a broker for many years. I would not give it up however I would not get it again. Just remember to be honest and disclose, disclose, disclose. Good Luck.

If you think having a real estate license will give you the educational benefit for an investor, you might be wrong. I've just listened to BiggerPocket Podcast #153, they briefly talked about how most real estate agents does not know how to work with investors.  

Furthermore, an investor friend who has a real estate license told me that not having a license can be beneficial for RE Investor because you can "lie" to the seller.

Once you have a real estate agent license, you have to follow their rules. Such as, you must give a seller a true value of the CMA. It is not easy for you to tell someone that their house worth $150K but you only want to pay them $100K.

I just noticed you are from Texas.  I can tell you in Texas Donny is correct.  If you are an agent and you tell someone their house is worth $100,000 and you buy it and immediately flip for $150,000 you should expect them to take you to court and get the other $50,000 from you.

It can also required you to give out "Information About Brokerage Services" to many people you talk to about real estate.  Many brokers actually require that they keep the signed copies of those forms.

Originally posted by @Donny Widjaja :