How far is too far away to own rental properties?

25 Replies

Hi everyone, I am new to this game and my wife and I were looking to buy our first buy and hold residential property in the next year or so. As we have been educating ourselves, it has become clear that as a best practice, you should live near the area that you own properties. It sounds like this is especially true if you are a newbie. So the question is, how far is too far? How often will a land lord need to be at a property once it is past rehab and is fully rented? I am looking at living in Asheville, NC and properties in Asheville may not be as good an investment as they will be in a number of neighboring communities. Charlotte is about 2 hours away and has an abundance of deals that would cash flow. Is that too far? I know that there will be a lot of perspectives and that there is no "right answer" but any feedback from experienced investors would help provide some much needed perspective. Thanks!

When my wife and I started we had about three distance rules.
1. Close like on our street, neighborhood or a multi family you live in.  Not for us.  This could also be the rental type ie tenant that you have to collect the check in person.
2. 20 minutes or so away, this is what we chose.  We managed the properties and at about 20 minutes it was easy to get to but we didn't expect the tenant to knock on our door.  It's worked pretty well.  These are rentals at a price and neighborhood where the tenants are used to mailing a check on time.
3. An hour or more away I expected to have a PM and we do.  They are actually more than an hour.  Tough to respond 2 hours away.

Promotion
Sharestates
America's Private Lender
Receive Fix and Flip Funding Approval In As Little As 24 Hours!
Sharestates helps developers and brokers secure funding quickly with the most competitive terms.
Get Funded