Business plan to obtain financing

12 Replies

I am new to real estate investing and have read that it is best to present a business plan to obtain financing. Can anyone recommend a good source to find a real estate business plan template? If anyone has created one and is willing to share, that would also be appreciated.

Thanks for the help.

A business plan isn't needed for Real Estate Investing. The bank will look at the property and determine if they will lend you the money based on the LTV of the property. You will generally need 20% down and if the LTV is there (Loan to Value) then I have never had a problem borrowing against Real Estate. The best route is a home equity line of credit against your own home.

Micheal, I have to disagree here. Real estate investing is a business and as a rule of thumb, you always want to keep your business and personal finances as separate as possible. NEVER, EVER, tie your personal home into an investment property. It is flat out too riskly. If something goes wrong with the investment property and you end up losing it than you could lose your primary home as well.

Froehlis, if you are serious about getting into real estate investing, then here are a few things I would suggest to get yourself ready (financing and otherwise).

1) Real Estate Investing is a business. Treat it as such.

2) Decide on a small local area near home to get started and decide how you want to invest (IE. Do you want to fix 'n flip?/Do you want to fix em up and rent them out?/Do you want to buy em and wholesale out to other investors?/Etc.)

3) Learn EVERYTHING you can about your chosen area before you start putting your money into any deals (IE What's the retail market like?/What's the rental market like?/Are the neighborhoods you're looking on the rise or decline econamically)

4)Evaluate your personal financial situation.