What cash flow returns does you guys look for?

24 Replies

Hey Everyone!

I'm working on getting educated and analyzing as many deals as I can as I'm trying to nail down which market I want to get into in the Raleigh area.

I'm curious what cash flow requirements you have for your properties in order to pursue the deal. What I've seen so far is the better deals on the Zillow, Realtor.com, etc are looking like they cash flow $130-170/month for both single and multi family. I'm looking in the $60-100k range.

I've seen the $200/month number thrown around a few times, is that what you generally shoot for? I guess if you are able to offer and end up for around a 10-20% discount that would help your cash flow increase as well.

I'm interested to hear what y'all think, especially anyone in Raleigh/Durham or Fayetteville!

Hey @Patrick Young and welcome! I'm just getting started as an investor here in Raleigh as well and just closed on my first deal. 

I generally look for the 1% deals (rental income = 1% of the purchase price). I find that this leaves room for mortgage payment, saving for all expenses/reserves, and cash flow of about $100/month. I don't worry so much about cash on cash returns.

You'll find that 1% deals are much easier to find in some markets of the Raleigh/Durham area than others. I know they can be found in Durham, but I don't really know the area well enough to feel comfortable investing there. There are also areas in east/south raleigh (Garner, Clayton, etc) where they can be found.

That's my 2 cents. I'd love to hear what others have to say!