New Yorker looking to invest OUT-OF-STATE!

36 Replies

Hello all! I reside in Staten island, NY. I am priced out in NYC. Just bought a SFH in Staten Island last year via VA Loan. I currently reside in this home. I was wondering which of these locations would be best to invest in. I am looking to purchase a buy&hold under 100k for now.

1) Philly, PA

2) Cleveland, Ohio

3) Indianapolis, Indiana

4) Kansas City, MO

I'm preferential to Cleveland for obvious reasons.

What sort of minimum CoC do you wanna see on your SFR?

I would say $150-$200 a month CoC return. I am a newbie but I believe this is a reasonable amount? Correct me if I am wrong.

@Eric DeVito Philly's a lot closer - you can pop down there any day for only a $30 bus ride to meet w people and/or check out properties. A wknd trip to any other markets will cost you $1,000 and be a huge pain (possible flight delays, etc). You should scour the Philly local forum here on BP & start making contacts

Originally posted by @Eric P. :

@Eric DeVito Philly's a lot closer - you can pop down there any day for only a $30 bus ride to meet w people and/or check out properties. A wknd trip to any other markets will cost you $1,000 and be a huge pain (possible flight delays, etc). You should scour the Philly local forum here on BP & start making contacts

What areas in Philly do you recommend? 

Originally posted by @Eric DeVito :

I would say $150-$200 a month CoC return. I am a newbie but I believe this is a reasonable amount? Correct me if I am wrong.

You didn't answer the question.  I'm assuming you mean you want $150-200 a month in cash flow, but what is that based on?