What degree is most beneficial in Home Flipping

10 Replies

Hi Everybody!

I recently moved to Georgia,U.S to study and receive a degree. I had always been interested in Real Estate as my aunt back in South Africa is a Real Estate agent, so this is where it all began. This was even furthered when my Uncle started his own property investment business here, with that I've managed to see what happens behind the scenes and have learn't a lot from what he has shared with me. 

Upon moving to the states, I decided that I wanted to go into corporate so I am now studying International Business. Yet I've had a change of heart and decided to go back to what I initially wanted to do, which is Home Flipping.

I am wanting to continue studying as I do want a degree but not sure if an International Business degree is worth it or if I should change majors? If so, what major? I am still a freshman so making that change would be easy. I'd really appreciate any advice or feedback.

This post has been removed.

I agree with Bradley above.  I think too many people your age are trying to decide on their degree by calculating how much money they can make with it instead of following what they are interested and good at, which - if your motivation is to make money - you will find a way to make money doing what you love.  That might not be EXACTLY what Bradley said, but you understand my meaning.

You don't need a degree to be successful in real estate.  A good understanding of basic math is sure useful though.  The more you work in real estate - whether you're painting houses, selling houses, or doing comparative analyses of housing markets - you'll start learning what you need to know in the niches out there that might be of interest to you.

Why don't you start through some of the education and tools tabs from above and tell us what grabs your interest?

School Of Hard Knocks and a Masters in Common Sense.