Georgia Tech ATL, am I making a terrible mistake?

12 Replies

Hey gang, I am a would-be, turned soon-to-be first time investor, and I'm about to move forward on a property right in the shadow of Georgia tech. it's a small duplex, 1br/1ba each, one of those smaller homes nearby. asking price is 250,000. condition is ok. I've run some numbers, and my realtor is going to run some more with me, but I wanted to see what other Atlanta Investors might tell me? is there something I should know about the area? I'm nervous, but excited, so let me know what you think!

My property is in the suburbs and I'm still new to this as well, but I would be worried about all of the crime that happens on techs campus. Obviously, I'm sure you'll be renting to college students, which isn't a big deal to me.

Good Morning @Kyle Meadors

Surely your agent can evaluate the price of the unit based upon comparable solds in the area and also provide data on the pricing trend for that area (is it increasing or decreasing). The bigger question is whether or not this is a good buy for you? What are the rental rates for this unit? Already leased? What kind of tenants? Is this the best return on your money? $250K for 2 bedrooms worth of rent seems heavy especially with all of the other areas around Atlanta where you could get your feet wet for a much lower price of admission.

I’m not sure how high the crime rate is over in that area. But something is always happening over there. Cruise through the area during the day. If you see a lot of people hanging out during the day. Then they probably don’t have any jobs. Unless you want some headaches you don’t want to be in that type of area. They’ve done a lot of revitalization in that area. Look at the homes on your street and the streets over. See if they have been rehabbed yet. Talk to the neighbors...find out how they like the area.