Buy and hold in Texas

13 Replies

Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie from California.  I have been reading a lot of books and listening to a lot of different podcast.  I'm looking to buy single family properties in Texas.  My thought is to buy and hold these properties for a long period of time.  

Does anyone know if Texas has an investor tax for out of state investors?  If anyone knows the answer or can point me in the right direction to find it myself that would be great?  Thank you in advance. 

Hi @David Fawcett

Welcome to Biggerpockets!

Texas is one of the states that does not impose an income tax.

However, the IRS and States tax residents on world-wide income.

As a California resident you would include the income/loss earned from your rental property in Texas.

Furthermore, if you operate as a separate entity(LLC Corp etc) you may be subject to Texas' franchise tax.

More information of the Franchise tax can be found on the website below

https://comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/franchise

What area of Texas are you looking at?

Thank you for the information. I heard someone talking about Texas charging an out of state investor tax, but I couldn’t find much on the subject. Thank you for the link.

I’m leaning toward the Dallas Fort Worth area, but I’m not locked into that. Lol. I’m always open to ideas or other people’s opinions.

Texas actually does not charge an out of state investor tax.

if you own a property in your personal name in Texas - you won't pay an income tax.

however, you will pay an income tax to CA for your income in Texas.

Normally California will give you a credit for taxes paid to another state(but in this instance since Texas wont charge you a tax - california wont give you a credit.)

I was in Dallas about 6 months ago. Its a great city and it seems like business is still booming

Welcome to the community David.

I am also looking for buy and hold SFR in Texas. Mostly on north Dallas - Frisco, McKinney etc.