Information Overload, House Hack or OOS Investing?

10 Replies

Hey Bigger Pocketeers!

Brief intro, I've been listening to bigger pockets for a couple months now and have been diving head first into learning everything I can about buy/hold strategies. 

I'm a bit overwhelmed with all that I've been reading and wanted some advice on what you might do in my situation. I got pre-approved for a loan (Yay the first step) and was originally thinking of house hacking in the bay area, specifically in Oakland, San Leandro, East Bay but it's so expensive and maybe I haven't calculated enough deals yet but it's hard to make the numbers work when all these properties are 500k+

So I was wondering if it was worth doing a house hack here, or just purchasing investments out of state. I was thinking Dallas, ATL, Portland. 

Would love to hear your thoughts and if anyone local wants to meet up for coffee or drinks I'd love to connect.

-Angus

The famous debate. Here's an article that may strike some thoughts for you-

https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2015/11/1...

I live in LA, so same situation here as in the bay area as far as numbers. I've always gone out-of-state so the article may sound slightly biased towards that direction, but for the most part it lays out the objective options and things to consider.

At the end of the day, calculate the numbers on both options and see what you find.

slight p.s. the markets you mention aren't horrible, but either not the highest on the cash flow spectrum or not going to cash flow at all (Portland). Just keep in mind the numbers as you search through.

Happy to chat more anytime!

Hey Angus, 

This question in its more simple form is whether you would like to be an active (house hacking) or passive (OOS) investor. If you make a lot of money in your field, you may want to continue to focus on that job rather than diverting your attention away.