How to grow rental business faster? New-ish Investor

42 Replies

Hi Bigger Pockets members!

I'm Ryan from Knoxville, TN. Short-time lurker, first time poster. I've been studying and learning about RE investing for many years, but just started my business in 2016 with a small ($90k) rental property. In 2017 I built a new personal residence and converted my old residence into a rental as well. I rented this property to some friends (I know now--not the best idea).

I have a pretty well-paying job which funds my acquisitions, but it still takes me about 12-18 months to acquire each new property. Obviously as I acquire properties, I re-invest the profits into acquiring more, which contributes to the snowball effect. However, I'm looking for any strategies for growing my business faster. I'm open to diversifying from buy-and-hold to other strategies if need be. Here's my current portfolio and financial situation:

• 3/1/1 Rental - $90k property, 50% LTV - Cash flows $480/month
  • 4/2.5/2 Rental - $260k property, 67% LTV - Cash flows $90/month, acts as mostly a tax shelter and appreciation property
  • Job allows me to save ~$1,500-$2,000 each month

Thanks in advance for all replies!

Cheers,

Ryan

Leverage the 3/1 rental to the maximum since your cash is killing the returns on the property and unload the second property to reinvest in better cash flow. 

The second property is a loser. Holding for tax shelter and appreciation is counter productive to growth. 

I would also look into whether you can realise a profit on the sale of your new build and reinvest that into a multi unit.

Get out of the SFH market and turn your investing to multi units if growth is your goal. SFHs are counter productive to growth.

Leverage is the key to faster growth and higher true cash flow/ROI.

Originally posted by @Thomas S. :

Leverage the 3/1 rental to the maximum since your cash is killing the returns on the property and unload the second property to reinvest in better cash flow.