Real estate investing inquiry, help.

9 Replies

Hi all, I’m a beginner when it comes to investing, currently living in NYC. I have decided to invest in a home in New Jersey to rent out. However, I’m inexperienced with NJ market and unsure which neighborhood to purchase a home that I will be able to easily find renters . It’s importent to note my budget for a home is 350K. Your help is highly appreciated.

@Farida Faisal

NYC is about 1.5hrs away from Philadelphia (maybe even closer, depend on where from and to your go). I'd say Philadelphia will take you further for the same price. You can get a duplex in a decent area and re tax would be significant lower than in NJ. 

I have clients from NYC that invest in Philly and they love it.  

Hi @Farida Faisal ,

Some places to look into are North Bergen, Newark, Bayonne, and parts of Jersey City. A lot of these neighborhoods drastically change from block to block so you will want to partner up with an experienced agent in that area and give them the criteria you are working with. Best of luck!

What part of the state are you looking in? If you are open to considering the entire state there are several areas in Central and Southern Jersey where that price point can get you more home and the rental market is strong. As a leader for a South Jersey brokerage for five years and a licensed agent in NJ and PA let me know if you would like to jump on a call to discuss other areas. 

@Farida Faisal There are definitely good areas for buy-and-holds in NJ, but you will most likely get better cash flow in central or south NJ as taxes are lower than northern NJ.  As @Chris Martino suggested, there are some areas of northern NJ where you can find some good returns, but you have to be careful and know what you're getting into.  

Philadelphia could also be a good market for you to consider as suggested by @Yuriy Skripnichenko .