Holding LLC Companies

7 Replies

Hey. I am new to Real Estate Investing and I was watching a few videos about real estate and I heard the investor say they have a Holding LLC company. Can anyone explain what's a Holding LLC and is it beneficial to get one? If so when would be a good time to do so? Before I buy properties or later in my investing career?

Thanks in advance.

@LeArcashei Moore LLCs are used as an asset protection (and tax mitigation strategy). They add on an extra layer of costs. Unless you have a few properties or a decent amount $-wise under control, I would suggest to not put RE in a holding company (to avoid costs and hassle). Instead, you could get an better umbrella insurance. It will be cheaper and a better option. 

@LeArcashei Moore   I agree with @Omar Khan In general a holding company is only worth the cost if you have a bunch of properties. An umbrella policy will provide as good or better coverage for you. It probably makes sense though to buy property in an LLC if possible as opposed to your own name I just wouldnt set up a second llc to hold the ones with property in it.

@LeArcashei Moore An umbrella insurance is a type of insurance policy is designed to help protect you from major claims and lawsuits and as a result it helps protect your assets and your future. It does this in two ways: Provides additional liability coverage above the limits of your homeowners, auto, and boat insurance policies.

@LeArcashei Moore The LLC will protect all of your personal possessions from anything that could happen at an investment property. So if your renter sues you for any reason based on the condition of the property, they will effectively be suing the LLC and not you personally. Thus, your personal items (house/car/etc) arent at risk of being included in any damages the suit names.