Out of State: Balancing Team Building vs. Diversification

3 Replies

Hi all, hope everyone is having a great start to the week.

After reading a lot of posts on diversification, I'd be interested in hearing out of state / remote investors' thoughts on balancing the effort+time it takes to learn an area and build an effective team there with the desire for diversifying their investments across different regions or states.

I'm sure people have approaches all across the spectrum, but I think it'd be really insightful to learn about your experiences, both good and bad.

Ben.

I've been investing out of state for the last 3 years from LA.

I have 5 teams in 5 different cities and it has been going well.

It is a difficult balance between diversification and focusing. It's hard and you don't want to spread yourself too thin throughout all of these different cities.

I'd be happy to jump on the phone with you to chat more.

Antoine Martel

Thanks @Antoine Martel , I think that's kind of what I expected. No major questions yet as I'm just getting started, but since the places I've been looking that can cashflow aren't exactly dense urban centers, I'm getting skeptical on how many deals could really be done with the same team(s) there. Given how hard it is to find good deals, I feel like it'd make more sense to cast a wider net, so to speak.

Originally posted by @Ben Y. :

Thanks @Antoine Martel, I think that's kind of what I expected. No major questions yet as I'm just getting started, but since the places I've been looking that can cashflow aren't exactly dense urban centers, I'm getting skeptical on how many deals could really be done with the same team(s) there. Given how hard it is to find good deals, I feel like it'd make more sense to cast a wider net, so to speak.