Investing in Southern Illinois

23 Replies

I am a beginner Real Estate investor and currently own one rental property in Marion Illinois which is performing well. I am currently debating between continue to invest in Southern Illinois for rentals or not. I hear a lot of stories on the state of Illinois economy which makes me hesitate on buy any more property in the state. Marion and Carterville seems to still be good areas to invest though. Does anyone have any experience in investing Southern Illinois? If you do, would you recommend to continue investing in the area? Thanks in advance for your input. 

The Illinois Real Estate investors association meets on the second Tuesday of the Month in Marion, IL. PM me for details

Hi Mark, my husband and I recently closed on the single-family home in southern Illinois area and are closing on a four Plex and an additional single in the next month or so. We are planning to continue to purchase in the state of Illinois I know there’s lots of issues however because we also live in Illinois and can get to the properties within just a few hours we think it’s a good idea.  We are totally not opposed to going elsewhere if things seem to not go well, but as of now cash flow is good.  

@Diana Dorantes I am in Illinois and am considering purchasing my first investment property - I'm a little nervous to invest in IL given the high taxes/rate of exodus from the state! Was looking to invest near Bloomington-Normal around ISU.

How has your investment performed so far?

Lauren, so far so good.  We plan to continue to invest in Illinois, we just are making sure our numbers are solid.  If we do have a ‘hiccup’ we made sure our numbers had wiggle room.  We are comfortable with this state ..... not opposed to another region/state just need to study the area really really well.   We do use a property manager who does a really good job.  We do trust but we verify jobs are complete and communication is stellar!