• Laguna Niguel, CA
Votes |
Questions about a first possible rental

Dean Ho
  • Realtor
  • Laguna Niguel, CA
Posted Aug 2 2018, 11:04

Hello Everyone,

I am completely new to RE investing, but I have been thinking a while about a possible way to get my feet wet into rental properties, but I'm not sure how exactly it can be done. 

Back in 2014 my mom bought a new construction townhome in downtown Anaheim in California. It is in a very good area and neighborhood, 5 minutes from Disneyland, less than 10 minutes from Angel Stadium and the Honda Center and close to schools. It is a 3 bed, 2.5 bath 2 level 1300 sqft townhome, she purchased for 435K. For anyone not familiar with the Orange County market the prices are astronomical right now and pretty much at their peak. She used the proceeds from the sale of her previous home and put a 200K (!?!?) down payment into this current home under a 30 year conventional loan at a very low 3.6% interest rate. I do not live with her, so there are 2 vacant rooms. I am a real estate agent in my area with MLS access so I am very familiar with the comps, rentals, etc. and her exact unit would rent out around $2500-2600 a month. Her current mortgage payment is $1080/month because of her large down payment, and the PITI along with the HOA fee is a total of $1800 / month. All said and done it costs her about $1800 a month to pay for all of her home's expenses.