Should I even consider 100+ year old properties?

11 Replies

Hello BiggerPockets Community,

So I am a complete newbie to real estate investing. I decided to start my search for my first deal (2-4 Unit Multifamily rentals) closer to where I live because I wanted to self manage. Currently a good portion of the inventory in my area consist of 100+ year old properties. So I wanted to hear from you all about your own experiences with older properties. What are some things I should be looking out for to avoid costly repairs or fees? Is it a better strategy to find deals that are farther away but where the properties are newer? What good experiences have you had with 100+ year old properties? Bad experiences? Are there tenants that would even find a 100+ year old rental appealing?

Anything you can share about your own experiences, or any tips you all can provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

An inspection report will tell you everything you need to know. Many contractors are adamant that old properties were built better than more recent builds. 

I have a 4-unit from 1911. It's awesome. All the other properties I own are newer.

100-year-old properties (heck, 70-year-old properties too) often have cast iron plumbing (my 1911 has it and my 1939 home has it). Cast iron sucks. 

And a few multi family properties I bought have knob and tube wiring (it wasn't expensive to update). 

Plumbing is the bigger headache, IMO. If you can find old properties with updated plumbing, that's a nice plus. 

And of course, in older homes, if you're sanding, etc. be mindful that old paint often contains lead. 

Again, definitely get an inspection report done.