Can buy and hold in a hot market cash flow?

10 Replies

I’m new to real estate investing and planning to buy and hold a rental property in the next few months. My husband and I are comparing possibilities where we live (Nashville, TN) to where we grew up in Indiana. The markets in these two cities are very different. Nashville is growing so fast and the market is “hot”. This seemed great to me as a homeowner reaping the rewards of fast-growing equity. However, as a potential investor I don’t understand how anyone can buy and hold small properties here and cash flow? An “as is” 2 bed 1 bath goes for 300k. There are “as is” duplexes in a great part of town listed for 600k. It seems that rent can’t be high enough to cash flow. Especially when there is constant construction of huge luxury apartment buildings. However, owning property here is alluring for the possible appreciation. On the other hand, the market in Indiana where we grew up is very stable. We could buy a turn key 2bed 1ba for 75k and rent it no problem. BUT, The properties there haven’t appreciated much over the past 20 years I’m just curious what’s the better bet for us just getting started? We’re leaning toward Indiana but I’m just curious how anyone can make money renting single families or duplexes in a market where home prices are high? It seems flippers are the only investors that could benefit from a market like this.

@Sarah Barrett It really depends on how you buy and structure the deals. 

Firstly i typically wouldn't get a 2/1 unless i had the capability to turn it into a 3/2.  preferably for rentals you want to stay with the 3/2's as they are the safer bet.